top of page

The Feeling

Booking your first solo travel adventure and how to make it happen.

INGREDIENTS:

- 1 Laptop

- 1 Vodka and lemonade (Or whatever your poison)

- Heap loads of ‘I’m shitting myself’

- Your mum and cat for support (Optional)

And finally...

- Breaking the comfort zone.

Oh, and money. I guess the whole money thing is kind of vital at this stage.

I FINALLY BOOKED IT! With my laptop out, my mum sat next to me, my cat begging for food (I took this as vocal support) and my head telling me ‘DON’T BOOK’. I made the first click and watched the bookings be confirmed.

For around 2 years I toyed and planned and toyed again with the idea of travelling with friends. The grand plan was to graduate from university and explore the corners of Asia and Australia. I came to the conclusion that was mentally too big of a challenge for myself, especially for a first-time travel, SOLO.

So, as you already know, I opted for Europe (Hence the ‘CAT TRAVELS IN EUROPE’ blog title, spoiler alert) - walk before you can run right?

My friends and family asked, ‘OH, a three-month trip around Europe? How do you feel about it?’

To which I reply, ‘I am very excited’. To which I really mean…

During the day, I am counting down the days at work, getting excited, thinking of how my adventure is going to turn out. Daydreaming about eating chocolate waffles in Brussels, playing chess in the thermal baths in Budapest, being serenaded on a gondola in Venice and imagining all the kinds of people I am going to meet.

At night, I think of nothing but the negatives, I dwell on my fears, thinking of how lonely I will be, the dangers of the people I will meet, theft, kidnap, getting lost, not enjoying myself, the thought of discovering travelling isn't for me after all this planning. *DEEP BREATH IN*. The list is long, but not as long as the list of positives.

I overthink, and I ‘think’ this mixture of emotions is natural. Pushing yourself out of your comfort zone is scary and exciting.

This has been and is continuing to be an inner battle with myself to get out of my comfort zone, to push my limits and take a new lease on life, whether the adventure is positive or negative (hopefully completely, fully and only positive) I know I will grow as a person from this experience and who knows, I may get the travel bug.

I have talked the talk long enough, now it is time to actually walk the walk.

Also, Welcome to my little blog.

SIDE NOTE:

The purpose of this blog... for myself.

So I can look back and cringe, laugh and cry at the journey I am about to take. Plus, I know my family and close friends will be creeping on here, cringing laughing and crying with me.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page